Tack Trunk Tuesday

Standard

Everyone has a comfort food list.  I am certain that our lists have some similarities because your list probably includes food you ate as a child.  Food that evokes incredible memories and calms your senses.  I don’t view this as a slippery slope when these foods are reintroduced occasionally.  Sometimes just a few bites puts my life back in balance.  Sometimes it’s just a few bits.  Sometimes.

My comfort foods are associated with events.  My mom supported my horse shows the best way she knew how with homemade goodies – oh the comfort! – for the rumbly in my tumbly.  It was always brownies and hermits.  Always.  Mom knew that consistency ruled!

When I started swimming longer distances this year for my Triathlons, I encountered a similar nervous tummy.  There is a laundry list of foods I refuse to eat before swimming and so what is left, is …essentially nothing.  There was nothing that I could eat or drink except water before submerging myself into a lake and swimming over a mile.  Excellent.  I’ve literally tried forcing things down my throat and that doesn’t work.

My comfort food list for the save!  Hooray!  I’ve found that I can pop a couple of hermits and have a stellar performance because I am not passing out from low blood sugar.

Here is the recipe for my mom’s hermits (essentially an old fashioned spice cookie).  I’ve included a few of my own modifications that were inspired by my friends.  It’s really a granola bar in a cookie costume.

Mom’s Hermits

1/2 cup of butter

3/4 cup of brown sugar

1/2 tsp of baking soda

1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp of fresh ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp of ground cloves

1 egg (hand gathered are best!)

2 tbsp of milk

1 tsp of vanilla

1 1/2 cup of flour (I use a combo of wheat & unbleached from a local mill)

1 mixed cup of dried cranberries, dried blueberries, dried cherries, raisins, chopped dates and orange peel (really whatever you like!)

1/2 cup of walnuts (heart healthy!)

In a large bowl with an electric mixer on high speed beat butter with brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Should look really fluffy!  Beat in egg, milk and vanilla.  Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer.  Stir in remaining flour, mixed cup and nuts.

Drop on a greased cookie sheet by rounded spoonfuls.  Bake at 375 for 10 minutes or until edges are lightly brown.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

